Catalogus Philologorum Classicorum

Directed by Franco Montanari e Luciano Bossina Università degli studi di Genova   unige


The Catalogus Philologorum Classicorum (CPhCl) provides a reference tool for all those who study greek and latin antiquity, specifically useful for studies on the history of classical scholarship in the modern age. It is an encyclopaedic lexicon collecting the bio-bibliographical data about classical philologists and it is a continuation and improvement of W. Pökel’s Philologisches Schriftstellerlexikon, Leipzig 1882. Only deceased scholars are included.


The Catalogus started off with the 1984 CNR international conference "La filologia classica nel secolo XX" (strongly supported by Scevola Mariotti) and with its proceedings, published in Pisa in 1989. Subsequently the preparation of a Catalogus Philologorum Classicorum has begun at the Dipartimento di Filologia Classica of the University of Pisa, with the financial support of CNR, and has been on-line since 2003, within the web-site Aristarchus, thanks to a cooperation between the Dipartimento di Filologia Classica of the University of Pisa and the Dipartimento di Archeologia e Filologia Classica (D.AR.FI.CL.ET.) of the University of Genoa.


The CPhCl has become an international network since 2009. The central unit, which has its head office at the Dipartimento di Archeologia e Filologia Classica of the University of Genoa, is responsible for the coordination and supervision of the whole project, as well as the administration of the website. The cards concerning the scholars have been attributed to the local units according to geographic and linguistic criteria. A three-letter abbreviation identifies the country of the unit which is responsible for each card.

For specific information about the cards you can write an e-mail to the relevant unit, provided it has started its activity. Since CPhCl is a work in progress the units are continually developing their competence and skills. In the meantime you can write an e-mail to the central unit about the whole project or about cards that have not yet been attributed to a specific unit.

You should be aware that mistakes and shortcomings of various kinds are inevitable at this stage: we are sorry for them and very grateful for any suggestion on your part.

To display a file example click here

At the moment the following national units have begun their activity


Università degli Studi di Genova, Dipartimento di Antichità, Filosofia, Storia (DAFIST)

Prof. Franco Montanari
Prof. Luciano Bossina
Main Editorial Office
Dr.ssa Paola Ascheri
Scientific staff
Dr.ssa Alessia Ferreccio

Librairie Philosophique J. Vrin

Responsible for France

Dr. Pascale Hummel

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Seminar für Klassische Philologie

Responsible for Germany and Austria

Prof. Bernhard Zimmermann
Main Editorial Office
Stylianos Chronopoulos
Scientific staff
Jonathan Groß

Aristotle University Thessaloniki, Department of Classical Studies

Responsible for Greece

Prof. Antonios Rengakos
Main Editorial Office
Stylianos Chronopoulos

Università degli Studi di Padova, Dipartimento di Scienze Storiche Geografiche e dell'Antichità (DISSGeA)

Responsible for Italy

Prof. Luciano Bossina
Scientific staff
Dr. Raffaele Tondini

Nicolaus Copernicus University, Faculty of Languages, Chair of Greek Language and Civilisation

Responsible for Poland

Prof. dr hab. Wlodzimierz Appel
Main Editorial Office
Dr. Anna Glodowska

Universidade de Coimbra, Centro de Estudos Clássicos e Humanísticos

Responsible for Portugal and the Portuguese speaking countries of South-America

Prof. José Luís Lopes Brandão
Scientific staff
Prof. Delfim Ferreira Leão

Higher School of Economics

Responsible for Russia

Prof. Gasan Gusejnov
Main Editorial Office
Dr. ssa Anna Novokhatko
Elena S. Tsipileva
Scientific staff
Prof. Sergey A. KKarpukhin
Prof. Gabriel Superfin

Universidad de Extremadura, Cáceres, Facultad de Filosofía y Letras, Departamento de Ciencias de la Antigüedad

Responsible for Spain and the Spanish speaking countries of Central and South-America

Prof. Manuel Sanz Morales
Main Editorial Office
Dr. ssa Miryam Librán Moreno
Scientific staff
Prof. ssa Elina Miranda Cancela (Univ. de La Habana, Cuba)
Prof. ssa Lidia Gambon (Univ. Nacional del Sur, Bahía Blanca, Argentina)
Prof. Arturo Álvarez Hernández (Univ. Nacional Mar del Plata, Argentina)
Prof. Cristina Pippolo Griego (Universidad de la República, Uruguay)
Prof. Sol Argüello Scriba (Univ. de Costa Rica, San José de Costa Rica)

University of Glasgow, University Library

Responsible for United Kingdom and Ireland

Mr. Graham Whitaker